Meet the Brewer: Gareth Williams of Tiny Rebel Brewing Co.

Unless you’ve been living under a rock on Barry beach, you must have heard of, and sipped on, Tiny Rebel. Owned by brother-in-laws Gazz Williams and Brad Cummings, Tiny Rebel was conceived in 2010, launched in 2012 and has been brewing some of Wales’ best craft beers ever since, so I’m thrilled to feature their co-owner and head brewer, Gareth ‘Gazz’ Williams, in the next Meet the Brewer post.

Pic attributed to Jordan Harris

Pic attributed to Jordan Harris

Where are you from?

Originally I’m from Blackwood, I’m a Valleys lad. I moved away from Blackwood when I was 20. I’m an electrician by trade and I moved overseas to New Zealand to work over there for two and a half years, then I went travelling round and moved back home but there was no way I was moving back to the Valleys so I moved to Cardiff then Newport.

How did you get into brewing?

I’ve been homebrewing since my early 20s because of my grandfather. When I was a kid growing up I remember bottles of homemade ginger beer all over the house. I remember these two litre plastic coke bottles exploding with the yeast and they would bubble over. I can always remember him home brewing and I was keen on it because he used to do it. Then when I got a bit older I started having a go and I enjoyed it. I didn’t really enjoy it at first when I was doing the the kits, they were crap and the beer was rubbish. It wasn’t until I started extract brewing that it started to turn out pretty decent. It took me about 4 or 5 years to get onto the full blown stuff and I really got into it. The first one I ever did I was astounded with it and thought “Wow, you can brew beer that’s as good as what’s out there!” It was only a London Pride clone that I brewed but it was awesome and I loved it. It went on from there and I started learning about hops and it’s like any hobby and you really get into it.

If you were stranded on a desert island, what beer would you want to be stranded with?

That’s a hard one. A beer that I really like and it has to be a session beer. One of my guilty pleasures is Theakston’s Old Peculier, it’s a fantastic beer. I always class a beer to style, so even though im not really into bitters, you can still get very very very good bitters and I love Old Peculier. It ticks all the boxes for me, it’s not all about hops.

If you could brew a collaboration beer with anyone, who would it be?

My granddad! He hasn’t been down here yet but that’s who my inspiration was.

You take a lot of inspiration from retro video games and films but what are your favourites?

I love Ghostbusters and probably Street fighter two and Mortal Kombat.

When you’re not brewing what are you doing?

When I’m not brewing me and my mates have a little beer club, so once a week we’ll buy three beers and we’ll dish them all out and we’ll review them. That or beer tours!

What is your favourite style of beer?

Anything that’s not too offensive and doesn’t hit me like a punch in the face and anything I can drink more than one of that’s balanced and tasty. I’m not into overly hopped or overly bitter beers. Anyone can throw in heaps and heaps of hops but getting it balanced is most important.

What is your favourite beer that you’ve brewed?

We’ve recently brewed a Belgian Blonde; a triple yeast ring. It was a blend of two trappist yeasts and a Belgian ale yeast and it was very very true to style. I was happy with how close to style it was. We wanted a balanced Belgian beer and it came through very well. That closely followed by the Rebel Alliance beer with a Saison Dupont yeast.

Related Stuff:

One thought on “Meet the Brewer: Gareth Williams of Tiny Rebel Brewing Co.

  1. Pingback: First Annual Bite at The Beach | LAwonders

Leave a Reply

