Weekend Drinking #2: A Party

Le Pub is about 60 seconds from the train station. Go there. Lots.

Le Pub is about 60 seconds from the train station. Go there. Lots. (Photo attributed to Matt Jarrett)

Saturday 14th December. The annual Diverse Music Christmas party in Le Pub. Le Pub is basically my favourite place in the world; I’ve been drinking, talking shit and watching bands there since I was 16. It’s fair to say that in the past, the beer choice was as shoddy as the toilets. All this has changed now though. Long term manager Sam now has the lease and the toilets are now all new and sparkly and the beer fridge is full of great stuff, there’s plenty for everyone on tap now too. If you’re a young gig goer or a middle-aged beer lover, check it out.

They balanced one another out!

They balanced one another out! (Photo attributed to Matt Jarrett)

It’s that time of year so fuck it, first up is a Batemans Rosey Nosey. Smelt less Christmas than any non Christmas ale I’ve had lately. At a push it might taste of the tartan blanket grampa would have on his lap.

We wore our special beer tasting hats for the evening.

We wore our special beer tasting hats for the evening (Photo attributed to Matt Jarrett)

In response to Santa I have a Wychwood Brewery Bah Humbug Christmas Cheer. Smells like cloves in oranges. Tastes of plums or something. Not quite sure. I don’t think I’ve ever eaten a plum. It made an effort to be Christmassy and I respect it for that.

More Celt. Celt is nice.

More Celt. Celt is nice. (Photo attributed to Matt Jarrett)

Bottle number 3 is a Celt Golden Crafted Ale. I seem to be going Celt mad at the moment. It’s 46 IBUs. I’m fine with this amount. It says ‘golden, snappy, citrus’. It is. They’ve stolen my thunder really.

Far more Belgian than the usual stuff.

Far more Belgian than the usual stuff (Photo attributed to Matt Jarrett)

Tiny Rebel Belgian Urban IPA. Smells of hoppy chocolate. Or hoplate. Tastes a bit of hoplate too. It’s really nice. Thumbs up. Pete has almost exploded in appreciation of this beer. He’s also had the last bottle so next time I have to settle for a Tiny Rebel Urban IPA. Not Belgian. Not as hoplate.

Dingus Khan were on while I was drinking these. They’re brilliant. It would be wrong of me not to give them a mention. They also really, really like Tiny Rebel beer despite being from Essex.

Dingus Khan, a great accompaniment to Belgian style beer.

Dingus Khan, a great accompaniment to Belgian style beer (Photo attributed to Matt Jarrett)

In a seamless transition, I go from drinking Tiny Rebel in Newport to drinking in a Tiny Rebel pub in Cardiff. Tap House for a couple on the way home.  Lawrence the bar keep talks me into a Wiper and True Summer Pale Ale. It’s £4.50. I’m feeling fruity and it’s a good bloody job. It’s zesty. Citrus zesty, zest, zest. Tastes of zest.

Scarlet Fever by Wild Brewing Co. is quite malty with more than a hint of caramel. I quite liked this but it was about 2am and I was tired so it was sort of like raiding the selection box on Christmas Eve when you get in from the pub. You don’t really want it but feel it’s the done thing.

I discover something new in Burger King. If you drunkenly ask for ‘loads of chilli cheese bites’ you get a box of twenty. No pissing about. Just a box. Of twenty.

Leave a Reply

