The Mega Deck Challenge

Ever been watching Man v. Food and thought to yourself that it looks easy and you could do it no problem? I’m constantly thinking that I could wolf down a beast of a burger in minutes or finish off a monster of a meal easier than Michael Phelps can win a gold medal. “It’s all psychological,” I tell myself, “Just keep on eating, it’s not hard.”

Well it is. Until you are presented with the challenge plated up in front of you, you don’t truly appreciate the sheer size of some of these monstrosities. This is exactly what happened with The Mega Deck; a monster of an omelette served in Cardiff Bay at The Deck.

Advertising that a professional eater was taking on the bad boy, The Deck were asking for challengers and without even knowing what was in it or what it looked like, I thought, “Yeah go on then!”

My confidence was high, I knew I had this in the bag. Then I saw a picture of it.

Screen Shot 2013-12-07 at 19.26.46

Photo attributed to The Deck Cafe

Then I found out the ingredients that go into the omelette. Weighing in at 1800g, this beast included the following:

  • 8 eggs
  • 6 sausages
  • 300g of bacon
  • 300g of chicken
  • 200g of mozzarella
  • 200g coleslaw
  • 100g of cheddar
  • a pepper
  • a sprinkle of cress

Then I researched the professional eater I was up against. One Randy Santel all the way from all the way from the U.S of A. Not just a professional eater; probably the world’s best eater. Having nearly 170 eating contest wins under his whopper of a belt, he is the Lionel Messi of the eating world.

Despite all of these factors, I was still confident in my own ability. I had this in the bag.

I created a strict diet of eating everything and anything in a bid to stretch my stomach and I trained hard for what was going to be my Everest.

I was even confident the morning of the challenge. I was even more confident when I learnt that Randy was feeling ill and so had opted out of a challenge the night before. He had obviously seen my training video and had chickened out. I was going to win by default.

Then my heart sank. The door of The Deck coffee shop opened and in strode a bellowing behemoth. Dwarfing me at about 7 foot tall, this is the moment my confidence began to slide.

Upon learning that he had destroyed The Devastator burger challenge, in Red Dog Saloon of London, in just three minutes, after boasting I finished it in 25, my confidence and ego took a bit of a bruising.

It took another knock when he whacked out his own weapons; a fork and spoon that I think were designed to dig trenches. That’s when you know you’re up against a pro.

His garden fork compared to my normal one (Photo attributed to Jordan Harris)

His garden fork compared to my normal one

We took our seats and I suffered another blow as the two plates were bought out.

My confidence was at an all time low when he kneeled down, put in a pair of headphones, cranked up his music, turned his cap backwards and folded the top omelette into a neat square and guzzled it down in under a minute. My tactics of slow and steady wins the race, were well and truly down the pan when he finished in 12 minutes and I had only made a slight dent in mine. This was truly a David and Goliath story, but Goliath conquered all.

8 minutes later and 900kg in my belly, I could take no more, both mentally and physically. Despite being one of the best omelettes I’ve every put in my mouth, I could not continue. I kept shovelling in spoonful after spoonful, chewing and chewing, but I could not for the life of me swallow it. I threw in the towel and despite only finishing half, I was proud of my efforts (although I couldn’t physically leave with my head held high as my stomach wouldn’t let me leave a slightly hunched position).

It will be a long time before I indulge in an eating challenge, but the day will come when I step up to the plate again, and until that day The Mega Deck will haunt my dreams.

Have you tried The Mega Deck or any other food challenges? Let me know below or @thegrillbarrel I’d love to hear about it and want to feature your story in a new Food Challenge section on the blog!

Related Stuff:

9 thoughts on “The Mega Deck Challenge

  1. Pingback: Paleo pop-up proves popular: Paleo Diner’s Club at The Deck |

  2. Pingback: Charity eating contest at The Deck |

Leave a Reply

